//
you're reading...
Awards, Musings

BAFTAs Incoming

With the BAFTAs coming up this weekend, and as I have now seen (most of) the films nominated, here are my updated thoughts on the hot list:

Best film – 12 Years a Slave, American Hustle, Captain Phillips, Gravity, Philomena

My money is on 12 Years to win this one. Whether its the best film, I’m not sure, but I’d say its the most likely to win.

Outstanding British film – Gravity, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, Philomena, Rush, Saving Mr Banks, The Selfish Giant

I’ve seen four out of six films here (excluding Mandela and The Selfish Giant) and I reckon Gravity will swing it.

Actor – Christian Bale (American Hustle), Bruce Dern (Nebraska), Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street), Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave), Tom Hanks (Captain Phillips)

Having seen all except Nebraska, I would love to see Leo win this one, but I’m expecting Chiwetel.

Actress – Amy Adams (American Hustle), Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine), Sandra Bullock (Gravity), Judi Dench (Philomena), Emma Thompson (Saving Mr Banks)

Having seen all of these, I’m still expecting Cate Blanchett to win hands down.

Supporting actor – Barkhad Adbi (Captain Phillips), Daniel Bruhl (Rush), Bradley Cooper (American Hustle), Matt Damon (Behind the Candelabra), Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)

Much as I love Daniel Bruhl, I think Matt Damon might get this one.

Supporting actress – Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine), Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle), Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave), Julia Roberts (August: Osage County), Oprah Winfrey (The Butler)

This one is incredibly hard to call, so I’m going with personal instinct and voting for Jennifer Lawrence.

Director – Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity), Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips), Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave), David O Russell (American Hustle), Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

They would all be very worthy winners, but I’m going with Alfonso Cuaron

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

