//
you're reading...
Awards, Musings, News

And The Nominees Are… (Pt I)

The nominations were announced this morning for the 2014 BAFTA Film Awards, which will take place on February 16. While being mindful of the fact that several of these films have not yet been released (and I’ve missed a few of the others), my comments (and tips) on the main categories are as follows:

Best film – 12 Years a Slave, American Hustle, Captain Phillips, Gravity, Philomena

Having seen three out of five films, my money would currently be on Gravity, but I suspect that 12 Years may give it a run for its money and I’ve heard excellent things about American Hustle. Despite excellent leads, I don’t personally think that either Captain Phillips or Philomena quite have the edge needed, but I may be proved wrong.

Outstanding British film – Gravity, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, Philomena, Rush, Saving Mr Banks, The Selfish Giant

I’ve seen four out of six films here and would really love to see Rush triumph, but fear that it may have passed out of people’s consciousness in recent months. From memory it was a much more nuanced film than many gave it credit for and the two leads were superb.

Actor – Christian Bale (American Hustle), Bruce Dern (Nebraska), Leonardo DiCaprio (The Wolf of Wall Street), Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave), Tom Hanks (Captain Phillips)

Having only seen Tom Hanks from this list, I can’t begin to call it. The money seemed to be on Ejiofor at the start of the season, but I’d like to reserve judgment until I’ve seen them all. One thing is sure, if Hanks is anything to go by, I’m in for a treat

Actress – Amy Adams (American Hustle), Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine), Sandra Bullock (Gravity), Judi Dench (Philomena), Emma Thompson (Saving Mr Banks)

Cate Blanchett to win, hands down. I don’t think even the brilliant Amy Adams can snatch this one from her

Supporting actor – Barkhad Adbi (Captain Phillips), Daniel Bruhl (Rush), Bradley Cooper (American Hustle), Matt Damon (Behind the Candelabra), Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)

Much as I love Daniel Bruhl, of the two roles I’ve seen here, I would love Barkhad Abdi to win. His performance was gutsy and perfectly controlled.

Supporting actress – Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine), Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle), Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave), Julia Roberts (August: Osage County), Oprah Winfrey (The Butler)

Again, I have only seen two so can’t really call it. I only hope that Oprah doesn’t win as triumphing in a homemaking role while being unable to peel a potato convincingly seems rather unfair.

Director – Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity), Paul Greengrass (Captain Phillips), Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave), David O Russell (American Hustle), Martin Scorsese (The Wolf of Wall Street)

I’d like Cuaron to win this one, but I’ll wait until I’ve seen 12 Years, Hustle and Wolf in case they make me change my mind.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

